Sizzla releases video for Crown On Your Head single from new album

today08/08/2021 13 4

share close
Eight years after he released his 70th album The Messiah, which copped a Grammy nomination, Sizzla Kalonji is On A High, as he edges closer to the 100-album mark with his new 12-track production set for release on Independence day, August 6. Coming on the heels of his last album Million Times, this album On a High, is not unexpected though, as Sizzla is by far one of the most prolific songwriters in Reggae and Dancehall, that Jamaica has ever produced, with a catalogue of more than 80 albums, more than 20 of which have hit the Billboard charts.
Million Times, which was released last October, and has been reportedly making an impact on the Latin market. The On A High album has been available for pre-purchase on all digital platforms just over a week now, and Sizzla has so far released one track titled  Crown on Your head, the content of which surrounds being discerning in order to avoid being exploited and to keep striving towards ones goals. Just over a week ago Sizzla posted a video of himself at his recording studio at Windward Road, with his first producer Caveman, who from all indications has a hand in his new album.
“Remember your roots and don’t bite the hands that feed you, neva” Sizzla said as he put Caveman in the spotlight. “Sizzla first producer before Mr Burrell, before Mr. Dean Fraser, before Mr. Homer Harris before Zaggaloo banging,” he said before giving his fans a tour of the studio. Sizzla released his first album Burning Up in 1996 at age 20.  That album consisted of 12 tracks including How Much, Can’t Hurt The Mind, The Poor, Gun Ting Don’t Pay, We Want Love among others.
His Grammy-nominated Roots Reggae album The Messiah, was self executive-produced by Sizzla, was released in May 2013.  The album included songs such as Psalms 121, Look How Many Years, Center Of Attraction, No Wicked Man, the title track The Messiah, Chant Dem Down, Dem Nuh Business as well as Suffer So Much. The other songs on the 15-track album were Good Love, One Life, Children Bless, May Di Powerz, Need You Right Now, What A Joy and Better Come. His second album Black Woman and Child and Da Real Thing have been acclaimed internationally as his best.
Da Real Thing was released in 2002 and contained a mix of Dancehall and Reggae songs all of them considered classics.   They were: Mash Dem Down, Simplicity, Solid as a Rock, Rejoice, Thank You Mamma, Woman I Need You, Bless Up, Why Should I, Got It Right Here, Just One of Those Days, Trod Mt. Zion, Its Amazing, She’s Loving, Boom & Go Through and Touch Me (featuring Rochelle). Black Woman and Child was produced by Bobby Digital and was released in September 1997. The title track still remains as one of the August Town native’s biggest hits and is regarded as a classic. Also consisting of 15 tracks, Black Woman and Child consists of a slew of classics namely Give Them the Ride, Love Is Divine, Make It Secure, Blackwoman & Child, Guide Over Us, Hard Ground, One Away, Oh What a Joy, Babylon a Use Dem Brain” (featuring Capleton), Princess Black,  No Time to Gaze, More Guidance, Mi Lord” (featuring Spectacular), Give Them the Ride Remix and Too Much to Bear. Sizzla in 1998, was awarded the Best International Reggae Artist of the Year by the MOBO Awards and in 2019 the Government of Jamaica bestowed on him the Reggae Icon Award for his contribution to the development of the music industry.
Sizzla’s On a High album tracks are as follows:
  1. Day Of My Life
  2. How Long
  3. Thank U Jah
  4. Crown On Your Head
  5. Business
  6. Get My Love
  7. On A High
  8. System
  9. Puff
  10. Better Be Careful
  11. Nutten Good To Say
  12. Lady I Love U

Written by: George Flavas

Rate it

Previous post


Opportunities @  All Flavas Radio

Radio Presenter It took us years to build up the team we have here today at All Flavas Radio. If you think you’ve got what it takes, and would like to get involved we would love to hear from you. Please check out below what we have to offer for you. If you think you’ve got what it takes, and would like to volunteer we would love to hear from […]

today04/03/2021 12 2

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *